But wait, there’s more

Have you ever sat around watching infomercials or left the channel on just long enough to have their words burned onto your brain?  Some bearded dude selling knives screaming “but wait, there’s more!”  What starts as selling a set of kitchen knives becomes a collection of one hundred blades; including saws, samurai swords, and ninja stars.  Each moment you think he’s done, he’s not.  There’s always more.  Not exactly the most interesting television available, I’ll admit.

Shark vacuum cleaners have been the subject of such shows.  They demonstrate their sucking strength versus other vacuum cleaners live on television.  They appear to be quite impressive; at least as far as vacuums go.  The day came that we needed a new vacuum.  Someone in our house (me) accidentally threw away a little (incredibly vital) part of the vacuum; thus a new purchase was made.  And, you guessed it, we bought a Shark.

But wait, there’s more.

The vacuum is impressive.  Seriously, it’s a great buy.  The house looks great.  But I’ll warn you.  If you run over an iPhone charger while using a Shark Vacuum, that charger is toast!  Stripped the rubber right off, like husking corn on the cob.  Nothing but bare wires and (literally) bent metal prongs from where the adapter ripped out of the socket.

There’s always more.

The world will always try to sell you on more.  You can have happiness with more money.  You can have love with better clothes.  You can have adventure with the right car.

The world is a liar.  It always has been.  Happiness, love, and adventure are found in “the Gate” and “the Good Shepherd.”  You might find a version of such things else where, but the authentic, original source – well, nothing beats it.

“Jesus said again, “Very truly I tell you, I am the gate for the sheep.  All who have come before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep have not listened to them.  I am the gate; whoever enters through me will be saved.  They will come in and go out, and find pasture.  The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”      John 10:7-10

But wait, there’s more.

“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”     John 10:11

There’s always more.

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me; just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep.  I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen.  I must bring them also.  They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd.  The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life, only to take it up again.  No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord.  I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again.  This command I received from my Father.”      John 10:14-18

How did people respond to Jesus’ message?  

They said he was crazy, like mad insane crazy; possibly even possessed by a demonic monster.  Others though, they heard the truth of his words.  For them, for the few that embraced ‘the Good Shepherd” there was indeed MORE.

In a world that endlessly screams “but wait, there’s more” the gospel reminds us that yes, there is; and it’s found in Jesus the Christ, Son of the living God.

So when you find yourself on the metaphorical (real) floor of your life untangling an iPhone cord from your very powerful new vacuum cleaner and the words of Mr. Infomercial guy are ringing your ears, in that moment remember the promises of Jesus.

In Christ you have salvation
In Christ you have life, life to the fullest.
In Christ a life has been laid down for you!
In Christ you know the Lord and the Lord knows you.
In Christ there’s room for the “other sheep.”
In Christ we are one flock with one shepherd.

But wait, there’s more.

“For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; He will lead them to springs of living water.  And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”    Revelation 7:17

There’s always more.

2 thoughts on “But wait, there’s more

  1. Pat

    I really needed these words. We are going through some rough family health issues right now and it always helps to be reminded that your life can get cluttered with stuff and lose focus of what matters most and that is the love of Christ and His grace. He will take care of all our needs if we let Him. Thanks Rob

    Reply
  2. Rob Collins Post author

    Life can be a tough current. But hang in there Pat. I’ve learned again and again that I cannot control the current, I can only control how I respond. That doesn’t mean much in our darkest moments, I know that, but God’s grace is still there – even then. God bless you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

